Dealing with Common Myths & Obstacles

Enda Goodwin

Field Agent

Field Agent

You’ve probably heard some of the stories before. You might be so convinced that these stories – myths – are true, that they’re keeping you from even starting your job search. You know the ones:

• I can't get a job because I don’t have a job. 
  • I’m too old (or young) to get hired. 
  • I can’t get hired at that company because they just downsized. 
  • I have no experience in that industry – I can’t get hired there. 
  • There are no jobs in the summer or over the holidays.

Dispelling these myths is an important part of moving forward. They are nothing more than self-defeating barriers that will hinder your search and stifle your confidence.

Don't Believe Everything You Hear

When job searching, some people might use myths as “crutch,” or excuse for not putting their full effort into finding a new job. If you’re serious about finding a job, don’t believe everything you hear. They are called myths for a reason.

• I can’t get a job if I don’t have one.This is a common misconception. It’s simply not true that if you’re currently out of work you won’t get hired. LHH candidates dispel this belief all the time as they see those around them getting prospects and jobs – and then they confidently go forth and land one themselves.

• I’m too old (or young) to get hired.There are three components of age – chronological age, skillset, and the impression you make. If your skillset is up to date in your field and you appear enthusiastic, age won’t matter.